Quinoa has both soluble Dietary Fiber and In-soluble Dietary Fiber, the percentage is approximately 36% soluble fiber and 64% in-soluble fiber.
How long do I have to rinse or soak the Quinoa
grain before consuming?
Our Ancient Harvest Quinoa has already been fully cleaned and washed prior to
packaging and does not need rinsing. Our cleaning process does not harm the
nutritional value or integrity of the seed in any manner. Our quinoa is a fully
viable, live seed that can be sprouted readily straight from the box!
Do I need to rinse the flour before using it?
We use the exact same quinoa we use in our 12 oz boxes to make our quinoa flour
and flakes also, so no soaking or rinsing is required for them either.
Is quinoa gluten free?
As a grain, quinoa is gluten free. Our Ancient Harvest Quinoa is grown
exclusively in the high Andean Altiplano regions of Bolivia. Our quinoa is grown at
12,000+ foot elevations in very arid conditions which will not support
traditional gluten bearing grain production, therefore insuring us no
possibility of potential field contamination with such grains. Our Traditional,
Inca Red and Black whole grain quinoa is then cleaned, processed and packed in
our quinoa-only organic and gluten free facilities.
Are your products produced in gluten free facilities? Our Ancient Harvest Quinoa, Quinoa Flour, Gluten Free Pasta Corn/Quinoa Product
Line and Food Merchant Polenta are all processed in specialized gluten free
facilities in the United
States. This assures us of the highest
quality integrity and frequent shorter production runs for fresher product
delivered to our customers. Our Quinoa Flakes are now also processed in a gluten free facility.
How are the flakes made?
The flaking process used on our flakes is a patented trade secret held by our
exclusive processor. We can say that this process is fully certified organic
and kosher and hold multiple certifications with organic and kosher
organizations in North America and Worldwide.
What is the percentage of Quinoa to corn in the pasta?
Our Corn/Quinoa gluten free pasta is primarily a corn based product. We have
found our proprietary percentage blend of corn and quinoa delivers the best
formula that gives us an exceptional pasta that offers the highest flavor, best
texture and excellent nutrition our customers expect from us.
Is the corn used in the pastas genetically modified?
Ancient Harvest Gluten Free
Pasta contain only non-GMO corn from reliable, certified organic corn suppliers. This has been always been our practice, and while it is a
very premium product to source and more expensive every year, we have and will
continue to use only non-GMO ingredients in all of our products.
We have just added this statement to our packaging; Our corn flours are supplied by Non-GMO corn sources only. So you will see this on our boxes soon.
Our corn supplier, SunOpta, is a private company specializing in high quality natural and organic
food ingredients and is not owned by Cargill.
We use organic corn flour and our gluten free pastas are organic.
Where can I find your products?
Our Ancient Harvest Quinoa and Food Merchant products can be found in your
larger Health Food or Specialty market. We do not have a list of stores, but if
you look in your local yellow pages under Health Food Stores you should be able
to find one near you.
Can I purchase directly from you?
You can purchase from our online order page for Wholesale full case and Bulk
orders only, we do not sell individual retail boxes. Click here
What are the shipping costs?
Our order site is equipped with UPS software that gives you exact shipping
charges. These charges do include a minimal handling charge that covers
packaging materials and cartons to ship your order.
What certifications does your company comply with?
We are third party certified Organic by NOP (National Organics Program) through
QAI (Quality Assurance International) and are fully Kosher Certified
with Star-K Kosher Certification www.Star-K.org.
Is your quinoa certified for Passover?
March 22,2011 CHICAGO RABBINICAL COUNCIL KASHRUS ALERT The cRc approves the use of whole grain quinoa for Pesach on the following conditions: . The quinoa is imported exclusively from Bolivia. Ancient Harvest is one of the brands that only imports quinoa from Bolivia; there may be others. The label should state the country of origin. . The quinoa must be carefully inspected by hand before Pesach. This is done by spreading one layer of quinoa at a time on a board or plate and checked to be sure that there are no other grains or foreign matter mixed in with the quinoa. This does not apply to Quinoa flour which is not permitted on Passover. Please check the cRc website for additional Passover information http://www.crcweb.orq/ *